4 – Rhymefest’s latest daring project…

9 01 2008

MITM cover

First, or at least one of the first thoughts many people will have, having heard the name or seeing the album cover is… “What is Fest doing?!”

I will admit, I was intrigued, not knowing what to expect.

Well let me help you, he’s just compiled (with the help of the one & only Mark Ronson) one of the most unpredictably ingenious yet hilarious, innovative mix tapes you will ever play to your ears.

With 24 Tracks, 6 being labelled skits (but actually more), you sit there listening to track after track loving Rhymefest more and more. He hasn’t gone for the predictable; get a few MJ hitters such as Billie Jean, Thriller, and then flip a rap on top… No, this guy has gone straight back to the Old School! Pure Archives. Tracks you have either forgotten about, didn’t even know about, or just even didn’t expect him to bring back.

And it works, it works too well! You finish every track wanting, waiting to listen to the next track. Every skit leaves you not knowing what to expect on the next skit to come. These skits are great, and will leave you howling with laughter. They definitely keep the flow to the mix tape running.

I really don’t want to give away what these skits consist of or even say what tracks are what… because this mix tape is best listened to, not knowing what to expect.

I assure you, if it’s not the tracks that have you amazed, the skits will definitely have you loving the project.

So if you haven’t already heard or own it, go to his store and download it. Because seriously, sooner or later, they are going to realise how awesome a mix tape it is, then release it as an album with a price!!

Updated: [For a streaming version click here.]

However, if you have heard it, ask yourself… Have you made any noise and told anyone about it? Don’t necessarily write an article, but at least tell friends, who can then tell friends, who can then tell more friends.

Watch out for this guy with an album soon out to come. Check out his MySpace.

Definitely an artist worth keeping ears on.

What do you think of the mix tape? Any opinions? Don’t hesitate, drop a comment 🙂

Credit goes to Ciccone Cooper. Thanks for mentioning this mix tape yesterday! You’re definitely making your fair share of noise.

Actions

Information

7 responses

10 01 2008
mokhal

I’m not really into mixtapes and all, but I am a big fan of Mark Ronson. I especially like his work with Sean Paul (“International Affair”), Nikka Costa (“Like a Feather”) and Christina Aguilera (“Slow Down Baby”). Haven’t heard his work with Amy though? Do you advise me to buy her album?

Keep up the good work (smiles) …

Hamada

10 01 2008
Ciccone Cooper

Thanks for the shoutout Mo, I heard Rhymefest actually got in touch with you and thats great man.
If he’s reading just want to say well done on proberly the best mixtape I have ever heard. I’ve heard some tracks of yours that I’ve really enjoyed; Back Home (Feat. Marsha of Floetry) and Brand New of course but the mixtape has made me a proper fan and I will follow whatever you do next and would genuinely buy it if it was on sale.
It would be amazing if you could do a follow up to this with some other Micheal Jackson classics.

10 01 2008
Mo14k

Mokhal- Do you mean Amy Winehouse? Mark Ronson’s song with her is called “Valerie” and it’s great! You Tube it. Her album is definitely worth a listen, it could most likely be something you’ll enjoy.
However, I DO strongly suggest you give this mix tape a listen; it REALLY doesn’t seem like a mix tape, it’s a great project, should definitely be an album! I PROMISE you, you will love this!!

12 01 2008
nalejbonz

I wasn’t sure whether or not I was going to listen to this mixtape the first time I saw the album cover a while back. But since you gave it such a good review, I’m gonna go ahead and give it a listen. Good look on the scoop.

21 01 2008
nalejbonz

Fire. An official mixtape.

30 01 2008
Reecie

The first time I heard Rhyemest was that “Brand New” joint with Kanye…it was a pretty dope/slept on banger. The idea of Rhymest and Mark Ronson is certainly an intriguing one, however I don’t have the patience to go and download his music to check it out. If I come across a streaming version of it though I will check it out.

Anyway…I just wanted to pop in on your site and see what you’ve been up to. Keep up the good work, but just a friendly suggestion…add links that don’t require downloads. It puts less steps between the content people want to hear and getting back to commenting on the site.

30 01 2008
Mo14k

Hey Reecie. I’ve now added a link to listen to the mixtape online before downloading, should you choose to.

(I’ve sort of been on HIATUS these days, due to being quite busy with exams, but will get running real soon!)

Leave a Reply

